Douglas Adams on Money
This planet has – or rather had – a problem, which was this: most of the people living on it were unhappy for pretty much of the time. Many solutions were suggested for this problem, but most of these were largely concerned with the movements of small green pieces of paper, which is odd because on the whole it wasn’t the small green pieces of paper that were unhappy. – Douglas Adams.
Douglas was an interesting fellow. I will always regret not taking the opportunity to hear him speak at an authors luncheon when I had the chance.
September 20th, 2005 at 1:03 pm
Hey, just thought I’d let you know that your URL is showing up in a comment spam attack from this IP address 216.56.240.71
Since this seems like a real blog, I’m gonna do my best not to add your URL to my blacklist but thought you might want to know.
September 20th, 2005 at 1:31 pm
Same here today: spam for your weblog from 81.56.240.106 which is lns-th2-4f-81-56-240-106.adsl.proxad.net, probably a compromised machine. Someone else is suffering the same attacks as you: see this page for info: http://www.i-marco.nl/weblog/archive/2005/09/17/under_attack_by_a_linkspammer
You may want to speak to Marco to work this one out – it’s clearly an attempt to discredit anti-spammers.
September 21st, 2005 at 12:03 am
It’s getting more and more worrying lately.
Today I spotted comment-spam on a site linking to the blog on which I found the first spam with a link to my site. I think we’ve got a serious problem coming up in the blogosphere…
September 21st, 2005 at 12:20 am
I’m not aware of what form comment spam took before but this form seems very confusing.
There is this website I have bookmarked that has a spam comment from me (just a trackback quote I think you call it) and my web adress, what chance that this blog was chosen randomly I wonder?
September 21st, 2005 at 12:29 am
Some updates on the pollution spammers
Earlier I wrote about a link spammer who seemed to be targeting me by sending out comment spam with links to my website (this particular article). After some emails between me and Ann Elisabeth, a.k.a. SpamHuntress it seems this spammer is not targetin…
September 21st, 2005 at 6:05 pm
Hi
i came here on an off chance. There is a comment on my blog from your site promoting something called naked truth.
the problem is that the only link is back to your site.
the funny thing is that i have 4 comments from different seemingly genuine bloggers – saying more or less the same thing.
September 21st, 2005 at 6:45 pm
Yep, it’s spam comment, beats me why or by whom. Read Marco’s site for updates.
September 21st, 2005 at 8:56 pm
I believe the blogspammers are trying a new tactic as from a few days ago: to flood the world’s blogs with spam that references genuine (non-spammer) blogs, so that when all the blacklist software (e.g. MT-Blacklist) results in genuine bloggers like you and me being blocked from other sites, it’ll be discredited and we’ll stop using it. They try similar techniques with email spam.
September 22nd, 2005 at 2:42 pm
Hey!, first spam from a real site… this is getting very annoying.
September 23rd, 2005 at 1:09 am
well.. i got here from a comment spam… with your URL.
So far, this technique seems interesting (dont get me wrong i hate spam) since it seeks to destroy the reputation of antispam systems. And, despite the fact that we might end up moderating one spam at a time… this wont hurt MT-Blacklist as it will try to kill other centralized systems like the one Matt is developing for WP
September 23rd, 2005 at 1:12 am
if it helps.. .the IP on the spam i got is 24.22.72.240
September 23rd, 2005 at 1:24 am
Well I guess one benefit is I’m finding some pretty cool blogs commenting here
I think the idea of adding some filter to the comment form is a smart one, something to jam up the bots.
September 23rd, 2005 at 3:06 pm
Interesting site, and very organized too. Good work. Coin World magazine: http://davidandjennilyn.homeip.net/2005/09/06/the-chronicles-of-narnia-part-5/ , Port aBuayar
September 23rd, 2005 at 3:06 pm
excellent! i enjoyed reading your material. coin world magazine: http://davidandjennilyn.homeip.net/2005/09/06/the-chronicles-of-narnia-part-5/ , port abuayar
September 23rd, 2005 at 3:07 pm
nice post. i’ll return. coin world magazine: http://davidandjennilyn.homeip.net/2005/09/06/the-chronicles-of-narnia-part-5/ , port abuayar
September 23rd, 2005 at 3:07 pm
very nice! i’m putting you at my favourits. coin world magazine: http://davidandjennilyn.homeip.net/2005/09/06/the-chronicles-of-narnia-part-5/ , port abuayar
September 23rd, 2005 at 3:08 pm
you’re doing a great work here. i enjoyed visiting here very much. thanks! coin world magazine: http://davidandjennilyn.homeip.net/2005/09/06/the-chronicles-of-narnia-part-5/ , port abuayar
September 24th, 2005 at 3:40 pm
Yeah,
it happened to me too. Four different comments from different IP’s and the same blah blah… The best you could do is to hire some adsense or something and, at least take benefit from the spamming… lol.
Good luck
September 25th, 2005 at 3:09 pm
It’s a very nice website you’re having here. In a small saucepan: http://davidandjennilyn.homeip.net/2005/09/06/the-chronicles-of-narnia-part-5/ , Soft voice over the net
September 25th, 2005 at 3:09 pm
your site is exactly the kind of sites which make the net surfing so fun. in a small saucepan: http://davidandjennilyn.homeip.net/2005/09/06/the-chronicles-of-narnia-part-5/ , soft voice over the net
September 25th, 2005 at 3:10 pm
you have some really cool stuff at your site. i’m sure gonna come back here. in a small saucepan: http://davidandjennilyn.homeip.net/2005/09/06/the-chronicles-of-narnia-part-5/ , soft voice over the net
September 25th, 2005 at 3:12 pm
i like your blog. it is a very interesting one. in a small saucepan: http://davidandjennilyn.homeip.net/2005/09/06/the-chronicles-of-narnia-part-5/ , soft voice over the net
September 27th, 2005 at 3:13 pm
Very nice. I hope you’ll update very soon. bring heavy cream just to a boil: http://feles.keeponhosting.nl/blog/?p=633 , 1 small clove garlic
September 27th, 2005 at 3:15 pm
excellent! i enjoyed reading your material. bring heavy cream just to a boil: http://feles.keeponhosting.nl/blog/?p=633 , 1 small clove garlic
September 27th, 2005 at 3:16 pm
i like your blog. it is a very interesting one. bring heavy cream just to a boil: http://feles.keeponhosting.nl/blog/?p=633 , 1 small clove garlic
September 27th, 2005 at 3:18 pm
very nice. you’re site is very helpful. bring heavy cream just to a boil: http://feles.keeponhosting.nl/blog/?p=633 , 1 small clove garlic
September 27th, 2005 at 3:18 pm
i enjoyed reading your stuff. cool site. bring heavy cream just to a boil: http://feles.keeponhosting.nl/blog/?p=633 , 1 small clove garlic
September 27th, 2005 at 3:21 pm
OK…
Just approved the last 14 commments, all of which are almost definitely spammy comments from legit sites.
Just did this in case someone is tracking this stuff.
Andrew.
September 27th, 2005 at 3:21 pm
Same here!
I’ve also got a spamwarning from your blog.
//David, Malmö, Sweden
September 28th, 2005 at 10:42 am
Hey, i also got two spam comments linking to your site, one from 80.179.116.156 and the other from 203.213.217.74
Hope the problem gets solved somehow and doesn’t cause you (or the rest of us) too much harm.
Andreas Climent, Malmö, Sweden.
September 29th, 2005 at 9:56 pm
Same here Andrew, got a spam to my porn blog of all places!
Best of luck getting rid of the scamming b’stards
Regards,
Mark
October 4th, 2005 at 8:48 am
Same here. Your blog is mentioned in a comment on my Wordpress Blog:
October 7th, 2005 at 1:30 pm
Got six of these, all coming through open proxies/compromised machines. I’m using SpamLookup, which caught three of them and marked the other three for moderation.
Spammers are getting more and more aggressive by the day, huh? Insane.
October 10th, 2005 at 8:51 am
same here, i received a spam from this site, on my blog… what does it mean? if it wasn’t you and the link goes to your site, what’s the meaning for another guy to do that?
luckily i changed to opt-in my comments, so my default is to reprove comments, and add only manually. so no clicks for them.
October 10th, 2005 at 9:02 am
[...] tonite I received a comment spam on the post I speak of my father’s death. the nerve! strangely enough, it was not a ejaculate more rolex in your big tits variety, but the dadaist poetry kind – the ones with links buried inside to boost google ranks. sorta like unauthorized product placement. . different than the other ones tho, this one pointed to a legitimate blog site, with a lot of people politely warning him that they were hit by someone spoofing him. . I believe the blogspammers are trying a new tactic as from a few days ago: to flood the world’s blogs with spam that references genuine (non-spammer) blogs, so that when all the blacklist software (e.g. MT-Blacklist) results in genuine bloggers like you and me being blocked from other sites, it’ll be discredited and we’ll stop using it. They try similar techniques with email spam. [...]
October 10th, 2005 at 5:04 pm
Yep it sucks.
Automated spam comment linking to legitimate blog sites.